Phrases

“Is that what they are teaching kids in school these days?” 

That question was often accompanied by a “tsk tsk”, head/finger shake and/or shoulder shrug by my elders as I grew up. In some situations, it was funny; in others, it was just annoying. I often thought that I would not ever use that phrase. Nope, not me; I would not ask if that was for sure what they were teaching kids in school these days. Yet the other day as I read a blog post written by someone that according to their “about page” is in college I found myself saying, “Is that what they are teaching kids in school these days?” accompanied by the same shake of the head and “tsk tsk”. At that moment, I laughed.

I understand that it is not only what is being taught it is what kids are learning. Teachers and textbooks can only do so much; it is also up to the kids/students to understand and comprehend the material being presented and to speak up if they need material taught in a different manner so they can understand.

Have you ever had a moment like that? When you found yourself using a phrase, gesture, or saying that used to bug you growing up?

One thought on “Phrases

Thoughts? Share below :-)

