Recipe Analyzer

One of my favorite recipes of all time is my Grandma’s Cinnamon Rolls.  I’ve never really wanted to know how much nutrition was in them because they are a treat.  One of those things that tastes really good, even though I know it can’t be all that great for me, but I really don’t care while eating it.

Out of curiosity I thought I would enter in the recipe to a food analyzer online.  I’d used several in the past and found them a bit cumbersome.  In my search for an easier analyzer with more information I found Happy Forks and their Recipe Analyzer.  Their website is free to use and they have a free membership.  I only used the services that didn’t require an account.

Their interface is incredibly simple.  Just type the recipe into the text box, figure out how many servings the recipe has, and then click on analyze recipe.  At the bottom of the analysis is the option to get a more advanced analysis.  They also have the option for creating a Nutrition Fact Label.

The categories they have in their analysis include (not all are listed below):

  • General (energy, water, caffeine)
  • Calories
  • Protein
  • Carbohydrates
  • Lipids (Fat, Polyunsaturated, saturated, cholesterol)
  • Protein and Amino-acids
  • Vitamins
  • Minerals
  • Isoflavones

I was pleasantly surprised to find out that each serving of my Grandmothers Rice Pudding dish has a lot less fat than I thought.  Granted that is just one serving and I don’t recall anyone ever eating only a two ounce portion.  I have a few more recipes that I am curious to enter, the Cinnamon Roll recipe is at the bottom of the stack.  I’m positive that it will be a while before I get to that one.

 


 

Links:

Cinnamon Rolls (https://roseylinn.wordpress.com/2014/10/15/cinnamon-rolls/)

Happy Forks (https://happyforks.com/)

Happy Forks Analyzer (https://happyforks.com/analyzer)

 

6 thoughts on “Recipe Analyzer

    • Thanks. Yes cinnamon rolls require yeast and dough rising time. I had trouble with it too until I followed my Grandma’s instructions, and ignored the “rapid rise” claim on the yeast. Her instructions:

      1/2 Cup warm water (the water can’t be too hot or too cold or the yeast won’t do anything.)
      1 package yeast
      1 tsp flour
      1 tsp sugar
      Stir and let set for a few minutes. Until the yeast about doubles.

      Once the dough is made it should be covered and kept warm until it rises (about doubles). And I use Fleischmanns Yeast. I’ve found that it just works better and Grandma used it.

      Like

  1. Roseylinn, I think you hit upon the key to health, moderation is the key. One cinnamon roll won’t hurt, but the third one won’t help. I can smell them now. My wife made a sour cream pound cake last night and I noticed it is half gone this morning. Uh-oh, Keith

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moderation is key in all things. When it comes to baked goods they were baked to be eaten; not to be looked at until they go bad. Just have to make sure that everyone else gets some too. 🙂

      I’ve never had a sour cream pound cake, sounds interesting.

      Like

Thoughts? Share below :-)

