Worst Gift Idea

With the holiday season manufacturers are working hard to influence people to give their products as gifts. Since just about every product out there has a newsletter; and the coupon exclusive incentive to sign up for them, they are filling up my email.

This morning one of the feminine hygiene product newsletters focused on unique gift ideas for teenage girls. This specific manufacturer tends to focus marketing toward teenage girls as being the primary shoppers of their product for some inexplicable reason. At the end of the list of recommendations they recommended being creative and giving a unique, off the beaten path, gift that would be a fun story. Immediately below that they did the pitch for putting their feminine hygiene products in her stocking.

After I stopped laughing I could just imagine waking up Christmas morning surrounded by family; pulling out a gift from my stocking, unwrapping it and having it be tampons, pads, or liners. Then I wondered just what they were thinking when they thought that would be a great stocking stuffer for any female, especially a teenager. I was also thankful that no one in my family has ever given me any feminine hygiene products as a gift.

The worst gifts I have received have had the following in common:

  • I was allergic to the item.
  • It was obviously purchased last minute.
  • It was just grabbed from the shelf without me in mind.

One important thing to keep in mind when giving gifts is to include a gift receipt; and the bar code/tag on the item. It makes returns/exchanges that much simpler.

What is the worst gift you have gotten?

Thoughts? Share below :-)

