Quote of the day-Robert G. Ingersoll

“Christians tell me that they love their enemies, and yet all I ask is—not that they love their enemies, not that they love their friends even, but that they treat those who differ from them, with simple fairness. We do not wish to be forgiven, but we wish Christians to so act that we will not have to forgive them. If all will admit that all have an equal right to think, then the question is forever solved; but as long as organized and powerful churches, pretending to hold the keys of heaven and hell, denounce every person as an outcast and criminal who thinks for himself and denies their authority, the world will be filled with hatred and suffering. To hate man and worship God seems to be the sum of all the creeds.” ― Robert G. Ingersoll, Some Mistakes of Moses

3 thoughts on “Quote of the day-Robert G. Ingersoll

  1. Great quote. When religions are inclusive, a big tent where all are welcome, they are at their absolute finest. When religions exclude because you do not believe as precisely as they do, then they are at their absolute worst. My worst pet peeve is bigotry from the pulpit. But, I don’t appreciate religions that feel if you believe a different way, then you are dead wrong. This is often how churches split, as there is a variation in belief that current members probably could not explain what the differences are.

    At my mother’s funeral, we had two ministers speak, although I was unaware that the second one was going to, after the first. I shared in a post after her recent passing, my mother was one of the finest Christians and people I have ever met – she walked the talk. The first minister was wonderful and spoke of my mother’s outreach and strong faith.

    The second one did not know my mother, but was the current minister of her old church. She had not been since he came on board due to her health issues. He was a very helpful and kind man, but his message was one of a very exclusive way to be saved, which I have been preached to since I was a boy. I did not realize he would be trying to convert people at my mother’s funeral. Several of my friends commented on the wonderful comments of the first minister, but were not too high on the second one. Same religious sect, but a mountain of difference in style and getting a message across.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with what you said, “When religions are inclusive, a big tent where all are welcome, they are at their absolute finest.”

      It is sad when preachers do that at funerals of all places. It is bizarre that you didn’t know about the second one preaching. Or that the preacher didn’t at least let you know what he might talk about. At my grandmothers funeral we had two preachers who talked; one was the current pastor of the church and one was the former pastor. Both were there at the families request. Neither one took it as an opportunity to convert.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Roseylinn, we went through the agenda the day before, so we assumed the older minister who knew my mother was the lone speaker. I actually spoke before him and made it through after some tough moments. And, there were wonderful comments at our invitation from the audience as people stood and spoke. So, I presumed he would just close up the funeral, not speak as he did. Keith

        Like

Thoughts? Share below :-)

