Sugar Ants

Sugar ants seem to stake out their territory; as much as I stake out mine. Once they find a food source them come out in a dense pack to gobble it all up. Battling them is an ongoing challenge. The other day I put down some maple syrup to get them to go to one spot:

DenseAnts.jpg
Mmmm maple syrup

In a few days I will add a few drops of ant poison. Once the flood of ants slows down I will clean up the area to remove their pathway. It seems to be a good method to combat the sugar ants.

Since ant poison is a poison I only put it in locations where my dog won’t get access.

 


Link:

Ant Conference (https://roseylinn.wordpress.com/2016/11/14/ant-conference)

Post Inspired by:

12 thoughts on “Sugar Ants

  1. Please find another way to get the ants out of your way. Don’t use any poisons on “anything.” In order for them to go from point A to point C, they need to follow their pheromone trail. If you can interrupt that for some distance, you should be rid of them.

    Like

    • I don’t think I can train the ants to stay outside; and they don’t seem to listen very well. πŸ˜‰ I do take other measures to keep ants and other critters outside of the house for health and safety reasons.

      Like

  2. Its an awesome picture for the challenge but poor ants! 😦
    I remember seeing ants everywhere at home, but do not know what my parents did to get rid of them, or if they every thought of getting rid of them, so I do not know if there is another way or what kind of menace they are, but your solution is brutal and genius at the same time πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • πŸ™‚ Thanks. Ants can be a menace. It only takes a few crumbs or one piece of dog food to have them come in droves. This is just one of the things I do to keep them at bay.

      Like

Thoughts? Share below :-)

